The Flag

The Indian national flag, the tricolour as the world calls it or “tiranga” as we call it, is indeed one of the most meaningful flags in the world which portrays the rich history of India.

A flag can say a lot about the country, it represents the citizens, the values, cultures, norms and traditions.

Pingali Venkayya, was the first person to raise the issue of having a national flag for the nation.

The official dimensions of the flag are 3 feet wide and 2 feet in length. On 22nd July 1947, the tricolor was accepted to be the official flag of India.

The three stripes are :

Saffron or “bhagwa” : stands for courage, sacrifice, renunciation and selflessness. Quoting Dr. Sarvepalli, “Bhagwa or the saffron colour denotes renunciation or disinterestedness. Our leaders must be indifferent to material gains and dedicate themselves to their work".

White: This colour stands for honesty, purity, peace, cleanliness and knowledge. White being a symbol of light, lightens the path of truth to guide the nation.

Green: This colour represents prosperity, faith and fertility. It also indicates greenery all over India, as ours is an agricultural nation.

Ashok Chakra: The Chakra represents “Dharma”or righteousness towards the nation and its citizens. The Ashok Chakra contains 24 spokes in the centre which also presents the 24 precious hours of the whole day and motivates the citizens to utilise them to the fullest. The dharmachakra, also present in sarnath it was taken by the King Ashoka to represent on the top of his pillars. The navy blue colour of the chakra represents the sky and the ocean.

According to the Hindu religion, all the 24 spokes of the national Flag represents the Life means The Dharma which are as follows: love, courage, patience, peacefulness, magnanimity, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, selflessness, self-control, self sacrifice, truthfulness, righteousness, justice, mercy, gracefulness, humility, empathy, sympathy, spiritual knowledge, moral values, spiritual wisdom, the fear of God and faith (Belief or Hope).

A few rules which the citizens should know about the flag:

  • The flag has to be hoisted after sunrise and should be lowered down by sunset

  • The Tiranga can’t be used for clothings, curtains or any religious purposes

  • The flag shouldn’t be below your height and no flag should be higher than the tricolour, if two flags are present at the same time and place,

  • Flag can’t be used by any flight, boat or car

It is really important for us to know about our flag as it is one of the most important parts of our identity as an Indian. I once read that, the saffron represents Hindus, white for Christians, green for Muslims and blue is for the minorities.

Saffron isn’t on top to represent their majority. The curators of our flag had a deeper sense of meaning while designing it! This inspired me in doing my bit to let people know the real meaning behind the Indian flag and to embrace the rich history and heritage behind it.

The tiranga is for Indians as a whole, let’s be proud about the fact that ours is one of the rare few countries with so much of diversity of culture, language traditions and what not.

Happy Independence Day!

“Unity in Diversity”

Edited By Diya Mathew

Recent posts

Featured posts

© Copyright 2019

Powered by panocraft